WRPA Awards Program

Celebrate Your Hard Work!

Kaleen Cottingham Spokane Youth Card School Day Olywahoo! So Bazaar
Congratulations to the 2020 & 2021 Award Recipients.

The Washington Recreation & Park Association celebrates people, parks, and programs with an annual awards program honoring individuals and organizations for their contributions to the field of parks and recreation in Washington State. We have three major categories that we recognize: Professional AwardsCitation of Merit Awards, and Spotlight Awards. Each of these categories has subcategories that are detailed below.

Nominations for the 2022 Awards will open in Fall 2021.

WRPA Professional Awards

Distinguished Service Award: 
The Distinguished Service Award honors recently retired professionals for outstanding service in the field of parks and recreation. Read More>

Honor Fellow Award: 
As the highest recognition bestowed by WRPA to an individual, the Honor Fellow Award recognizes an individual’s lifetime achievement in the field of parks and recreation. The individual selected must be equal in mind, character, and professionalism to those who have preceded him or her and must set an example for those who will follow. Read More>

President's Award:
The President's Award allows the current WRPA President to honor an individual or organization of their choosing. 

Ron C. Davis II Unsung Hero Award: 
The Ron C Davis II Award recognizes an individual for their unwavering commitment, leadership, passion, and contributions to the profession.  This award is meant for those individuals who work tirelessly to make a difference in people’s lives, without being in the spotlight, without significant acknowledgment, but with steadfast grace and passion.  This award is for an Unsung Hero. Read More>

Young Professional Award: 
The Young Professional Award recognizes up-and-coming leaders in the parks and recreation profession. Those selected for the honor possess the qualities and talents that will result in their assuming top leadership roles in the field and within WRPA in the future. Read More>

WRPA Citation of Merit Awards

The Citation of Merit Award recognizes individuals and organizations for their significant contributions to the field of parks and recreation. The Citation of Merit Award includes two award categories:

Honors an organization that has contributed to the field of parks and recreation.
Read More>

Honors a park and recreation professional whose contributions to the field of parks and recreation and WRPA. Read More>

WRPA Spotlight Awards

Spotlight Awards recognize outstanding achievements by parks and recreation agencies. Award categories include facilities, parks, trails, and program excellence.

Facilities, Parks, and Trails:
Recognizes excellence in parks and recreation facility design and construction. Read More>

Program Excellence:
Honors achievement in the delivery of parks and recreation programs and services. Read More>

Mickey Corso Professional Leadership Grant

As a tribute to Mickey Corso and the professional leadership he provided in the field of parks and recreation, his family, friends, and co-workers have established the Mickey Corso Leadership Scholarship. 

This grant is awarded to professionals and students looking to continue their education in the field of recreation and parks. The grant can be used to pursue post-graduate trainings such as NRPA schools, graduate courses, or other courses and opportunities relating to recreation and park leadership.

Learn More & Apply

Past Award Winners